The Hour Glass is Full

 The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing,
while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

–         Proverbs 13:4

Time is one of the most difficult things to defend and fight for.  I was reminded yesterday of the antics of Andrew Fuller, an 18th century pastor in Kettering, friend of William Carey and preeminent leader in the Baptist Missionary Society.  He took his study seriously.  So much so in fact that he had a placard near his desk that he would point to if necessary which read,

He who steals my purse steals money;

He who steals my time, steals my life.

Similarly I am reminded of another of my favorite dead preachers, Martin Luther who said to the effect, “I have so much to do today I cannot get it all done without spending three to four hours in prayer.”

I recently had the opportunity to hear a presentation from Wayne Grudem on how ethics effects economy in which it was observed that the birthplace of the Reformation is also known for its production of clocks and time pieces (meaning Germany).

Given all this, I can only hope that I can prioritize my time in such a way that I can indeed safeguard my “life.”

Leave a Reply

