Preaching to Myself 13 Years Later

13 And you, who were dead in your trespasses and the uncircumcision of your flesh, God made alive together with him, having forgiven us all our trespasses, 14 by canceling the record of debt that stood against us with its legal demands. This he set aside, nailing it to the cross. Colossians 2:13-14
I was 15, it was October, the year was 1999. I had been called to the ministry while at youth camp the previous summer. My first sermon was entitled, “Yield to the King” – and was based out of the text of Ezekiel – some how. I am pretty certain I preached everything I knew plus all that I had heard. While sorting through files today I came across this notebook paper, which incidentally is my first original sermon illustration. The message regarding the gospel is , I believe, at least partially poignant.
I even remember going into our bookstore and purchasing the object mentioned in the illustration and having the thought which led to what you see written here:
In my own life when I think of forgiveness I picture the cross, and while in a bookstore the other day I found what I believe to be the best image of the cross I have ever seen. Even after all the descriptions and pictures of the cross I have encountered, this 47cent object was by far the best. It was an eraser. What a wonderful picture of the cross, and what a wonderful concept of forgiveness.
On the last Sunday of October 1999 (coincidentally Reformation Sunday) this is at least, in part, what I preached.

Leave a Reply

