Books with a Story

I am reminded of your sincere faith, a faith that dwelt first in your grandmother Lois and your mother Eunice and now, I am sure, dwells in you as well.– 2 Timothy 1:5

I love my books, my soul is enriched by them and my heart beats with the reverberations sounded by saints who have come long before. The seed of my library was planted by my grandmother, Tressie Blackmon, now with the Lord sixteen years ago today. This book is a copy of J.B. Phillips’ translation of the Pauline epistles and it is sitting upon the book stand that sat in my Granny’s Sunday School classroom for decades. She used it for her Bible, I use it for Bible study. The stand was made by my grandfather. One line reads, “I want someone who loves God and will use them to have my books.” Thank you, Granny. I praise God for a godly heritage. (The second book is a copy of Faith’s Check Book by the Incomparable Spurgeon)

IMG_1155.JPG

IMG_1154.JPG

Leave a Reply

